The Old House

My Garden Army :)

I am very fortunate to be surrounded by wonderful friends in Aberdeen. I owe a great deal of thanks (and a large portion of my sanity) to everyone who has helped me in the past year since I’ve moved in. From chopping my logs (Duncan), to falling in my pond (Stevie K)  to some hardcore gardening (Duncan, Iz, Stevie K, Stevie O’ S, Mum…. the list goes on). Last weekend I had a veritable army of gardener’s and stonemasons in my garden tackling many enormous tasks. So thank you, you wonderful people – Carmen, Jordan, Johnny, Kevin  and Danni (who brought beer and food – equally as vital). This was us half way through the day, note Kevin hard at work!!

Garden Progress
Garden Progress

And this is how it looked we finished….

A bit fuzzy, but you get the idea!Kev even dug a new foundation and settled my greenhouse in it’s final location!!

Greenhouse in it's final resting place!!
Greenhouse in it’s final resting place!!

On the Sunday I was able to start building rockeries and finally plant out the many plants that have been in plant limbo on my potting table for months!

Rockery #1
Rockery #1
Rockery #1
Rockery #2
Rockery #2

Yesterday the wonderful Stevie O’Shea spent 9 hours breaking his back to get the garden to near completion. We strimmed, we mowed, we burned, we weeded, we planted, we moved many heavy objects, we tidied both sheds, we cleaned the pond, we pruned, swept, we scraped and weeded all paths and patios and we DUG LOTS AND LOTS OF DIRT!!!

These are some pics i took this morning, I’ll put better ones up when i got some. But it was too damn sunny (never thought I’d get to say that about Aberdeen!!).

My new kitchen garden 🙂
Terrence is looking a little less shabby!!
Terrence’s pond is one of the last things left to do 🙂
The rockeries are coming along nicely!
Patio all clean and tidy, with a new wall!
Patio all clean and tidy, with a new wall!
My Birthday Bay Tree in his new home 🙂

And this is what’s headed for the bin (bear in mind that the wheelie bin has been filled twice in the past 10 days, as has my neighbours!)

Bin day!!
Bin day!!

Thank you to all you wonderful souls for helping me. You will never know how much you have helped. And thank you in advance to Johnny, Stevie O’S (and Will, Sssshhhh he doesn’t know yet!) who are helping me finish the last of the jobs next weekend.

Much Love

L x

Leave a comment